World of Warcraft Classic

Back in the early 2000s, World of Warcraft was one of the best, most immersive open-world fantasy MMORPG’s available. Sure, the game did not have the expansions that it now has today, but at the time, it has every gamer hooked. In 2017, during BlizzCon, Blizzard announced that World of Warcraft: Classic will go live in summer 2019, much to the delight of hardcore fans of the game.

For the uninitiated, World of Warcraft: Classic is a contemporary reinterpretation of the vanilla version of the iconic MMORPG, before any of its expansions occurred. This means that significant events that came later on, such as The Burning Crusade or the Battle for Azeroth haven’t happened. In other words, players will be able to experience the game in its former glory once again, and this is precisely what Blizzard wants to achieve.  

Fans of the game will be able to turn back the clock to the earlier days of the game and experience the franchise right from the beginning again. However, it won’t be exactly the same as before since Blizzard is introducing a few changes and back-end improvements. For subscribers of the current game, the Classic will be free of cost.

Current roadmap of the game

Even though Blizzard will introduce some changes with Classic and will be using Patch 1.12: Drums of War to build up the game, they still want to incorporate elements and experiences in the vanilla version that gamers may be used to. This is the current roadmap, which will be released in waves:

  • Stage 1 (Classic Launch)

This includes Molten Core, Onyxia and Maraudon. At this stage, players will be able to PVP one another within the world. However, tracking is not available, and no formal rewards are available either.

  • Stage 2

This includes Dire Maul, Azuregos, and Kazzak. Here, the Honor System, as well as Dishonorable Kills, are available, along with PvP Rank Rewards.

  • Stage 3

This includes Blackwing Lair, Darkmoon Faire, and the beginning of Darkmoon deck drops. PvP content for this stage includes Alterac Valley (version 1.12) as well as Warsong Gulch.

  • Stage 4

This stage includes Zul’Gurub and Green Dragons. For the fourth stage, PvP content includes Arathi Basin.

  • Stage 5

This includes the beginning of Ahn’Qiraj War Effort, the opening of Ahn’Qiraj raids with the escalation of the war efforts, and the Dungeon Loot reconfiguration.

  • Stage 6

This stage includes Naxxramas and Scourge Invasion. Stage 6 has world PvP objectives in Eastern Plaguelands as well as Silithus.

Much slower pace

World of Warcraft: Classic will be paced much slower than the current WoW game because the vanilla version itself followed a much slower pace. For instance, players did not receive their first mount until they reached level 40. Simply put, players had much fewer options in every aspect.

As such, it’s no surprise the level cap is one of the biggest changes to be expected. The number of levels in the game will drop to 60, compared to the 120 levels available in the current WoW. Other notable changes include the world of the game becoming much smaller and more barren, as well as the underpowering of several classes. Players may find it shocking to see earlier versions of their classes.

Visit The Voidu Store for Other Unique Fantasy MMO games.

Write A Comment