The Elder Scrolls: 25 Years Recap of the Saga

Easily one of the most popular video games across the globe ever since it was first released on March 25, 1994, The Elder Scrolls is a series of role-playing action epic fantasy video games which is developed by Bethesda Game Studios. Now, in its 25th anniversary, let us take a walk down memory lane and see what the game has offered us so far.
First of all, it is imperative to mention that what makes the video game so unique is the complex and highly intricate open worlds it offers to gamers, as well as its focus on free-form gameplay. These two qualities have proven to be the series’ strongest points throughout the years. Various versions of the game have won Game of the Year awards, and the series has sold over 50 million copies across the globe – a few of the many achievements that are testimonies to its quality.
The Elder Scrolls are valuable artifacts whose origins are unknown. Moreover, it is not known how many of them exist, as they are archives of the past, the present as well as the future. The scrolls talk about events that would require a hero to resolve, but they do not assign this role of a hero to anyone in particular. If anyone reads the Elder Scrolls without technological aid, it can lead to extreme side effects such as insanity and blindness.
That said, let us take a look at various The Elder Scroll Releases over the years below:

The Elder Scrolls: Arena

Released in March 1994, The Elder Scrolls: Arena was the first installment of the video game series. The game is set on the 389th year of the third era in Tamriel. Emperor Uriel Septim VII has concerns of a traitor in his midst. It is soon revealed that his advisor Tharn is the traitor she kills the emperor and tries to usurp the throne. The player aims to stop Tharn by getting to the Staff of Chaos, which holds his lifeforce.

The Elder Scrolls II: Daggerfall

Daggerfall, the second installment, is set in the lilac Bay, where the player has been sent with two quests – to free the ghost of King Lysandus and find out what happened to a letter which was sent to a Blades spy in Daggerfall by the Emperor.
The Elder Scrolls: Battlespire and Redguard
While Batllespire, released in 1997, offers multiplayer gaming and focuses on dungeon romping, Redguard, which was published in 1998, is a pure action-adventure game with only one player character.

The Elder Scrolls III: Morrowind

In Morrowind (2002), we see multiple storylines and quests. However, the main plot is the struggle of the Tribunal against their former ally, Dagoth Ur and his Sixth House.

The Elder Scrolls IV: Oblivion

Released in 2006, Oblivion is set in Cyrodiil, a province in Tamriel. The player is imprisoned for an unknown crime, and the story develops further with more action and adventure from there.

The Elder Scrolls V: Skyrim

In Skyrim (2011), the timeline is fast forwarded to about 200 years after the events of the Oblivion. Here, the story starts with the player almost being executed but managing to flee in the last minute.

The Elder Scrolls: Online and The Elder Scrolls: Legend

Both Online (2012) and Legend (2017) were not the main installments in the series. They are, however, very popular, with Legend being available in Android, macOS, and iOS.

The Elder Scrolls: Blades

Blades focuses on the story of a Blades member who returns to his town only to find that it has been destroyed. Modes such as arena, survival, and town-building are available.

The Elder Scrolls VI

The latest installment of the game is expected to release soon.


Write A Comment